So I’ve started my two week trip here in Durango. My morning started out with the sound of a cowboy rounding up cattle around my campsite. I tried going for a mountain bike ride yesterday but I ended up spooking some cattle on the trail and, with the subsequent mile-long trail of cow shit and stink, I decided to turn back. I think I’ll take a different trail today…:)

I’m fortunate that my campsite is adjacent to probably 60 miles of backcountry trails that go all the way up to Purgatory and back. It should be fun exploring some of these today.

Tomorrow I’ll be driving to Ouray and spending a couple of nights near Mt. Sneffels. If the snow isn’t too bad I’ll be hiking Sneffels early Friday morning and then soaking in the Ouray hot springs pool Friday afternoon.

I’ve decided to go to Fruita, CO this weekend for some biking before I head over to Telluride. Stay tuned…

